Zeitgeist: Moving Forward

Published on 11th February 2016 by

Zeitgeist: Moving Forward (2011) is the third and final documentary in the trilogy of films by independent filmmaker and social activist Peter Joseph.

The first film Zeitgeist: The Movie (2008) focused primarily on three conspiracy theories. The first challenging the official account of 9/11, the second asserting that Jesus was a fictional character, and the third that the banks are manipulating the global monetary system for power.

One of the biggest criticisms of the first film was that Joseph, whilst damning of the current financial system, did not present an alternative. In the sequel Zeitgeist: Addendum he concentrates on the monetary system and advocates a new resource based economic model based on the theories of Jacque Fresco.

In this third and final installment Moving Forward he goes into further details about how the world would transition from the current economic model to a resource based one which does away with money and politics altogether and replacing them with a new money-less society where the worlds consumption of resources and the manufacturing of goods is constantly monitored.

Joseph believes that this new economic system would improve the quality of life of all human beings and create a cleaner, greener and more stable world. The film argues that the world is to become a darker place if we continue down the path, predicting mass unemployment as a result of increasing automation and an exploding population. As the title implies, the film puts forward a suggested route forwards.


In March 2017 BenBella Books published Peter Joseph’s first book, The New Human Rights Movement, in which Joseph puts forward his ideas for a new model of society. It is available to purchase in paperback, hardback, kindle and audiobook formats.

Year Category

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.