Vietnam: The Ten Thousand Day War

Published on 4th October 2017 by

Vietnam: The Ten Thousand Day War is a 1980 Canadian documentary series on the history of the Vietnam War, written by war reporter Peter Arnett and produced by Michael Maclear for CBC, it was first aired in Canada in the 1980-1981 season and later in the United Kingdom on Channel 4 in 1984-1985. In the course of creating the series Maclear visited Vietnam to access film material, becoming the first Western journalist to be permitted legal entry since the end of the war.

The original series as broadcast in Canada and United Kingdom consisted of 26 half-hour episodes but it was later consolidated into 13 one hour episodes for American syndication, it is the 13 episode version that we have available to watch here on Documentary Vine. Navigate between the episodes via the numbered tabs beneath the video player or by using the episode list below. You may also be interested in watching the PBS series Vietnam: A Televised History (1983).

Episode List


Michael Maclear also authored an accompanying book, Vietnam: The Ten Thousand Day War 1945-1975, published by Methuen Publishing Ltd and available in paperback and hardcover formats. It’s last print run was in 1982 but it still receives excellent reviews.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.