The Untold History of the United States

Published on 12th February 2018 by

The Untold History of the United States is a 2012 documentary series directed by and narrated by the writer and filmmaker Oliver Stone. The series tells the story of the reasons behind the start of the Cold War, the process which led to the decision to drop the Atomic bomb, and the evolution of America’s global role in the years which have followed the collapse of communism.

The ten episode series took four years to make, with Oliver Stone and the historian Peter J. Kuznick beginning work on the project in 2008; it went $1 million over budget with Stone making up the shortfall from his own funds. A 750 page book written by Stone and Kuznick was also published to accompany the series.

Episode List


Stone and Kuznick co-authored the accompanying book The Untold History of the United States which swiftly became a bestseller, it is available to purchase in paperback, hardcover, kindle and audiobook formats.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.