The Story Of Ireland

Published on 29th May 2017 by

The Story of Ireland is a five part 2011 documentary series made by BBC in partnership with RTE, and broadcast in Northern Ireland by the former and in the Republic of Ireland by the latter. The series examines the history of the country of Ireland and its impact on the wider world through migration.

The series, written by Neil Hegarty and Fergal Keane, examines the history of Ireland using evidence as facts and also discusses the origins of various myths which are often passed off as history. All five episodes are available to watch here on Documentary Vine, navigate them via the numbered tabs beneath the video player or by using the episode links below.

Episode List


Neil Hegarty, who co-wrote the documentary series, also wrote an accompanying bestselling book The Story of Ireland, available in paperback, hardback and kindle editions.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.