The Story of India

Published on 3rd May 2017 by

The Story of India is a six part documentary series written and presented by the historian Michael Woods and produced for the BBC and PBS. Woods travelled to India to explore archaeological and other historical evidence, interview local historians, and meet local Indian people to the tell the story of the countries history. He goes as far back as 5000 BC in the first episode and progresses down a timeline of events up to the Partition of India in 1947.

The series was first aired on the BBC in 2007 to mark the 60th anniversary of the independence of India and Pakistan, it was subsequently also aired by PBS in North America. A book was published to accompany the series.

Episode List


An accompanying book The Story of India by Michael Wood was published in hardback, paperback and audio book formats. It has also since been made available for kindle.

Year Category Tag

1 comment

  • Yogabrata 6 months ago

    Amazing series, loved every moment of it


Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.