The Spanish Civil War

Published on 3rd October 2017 by

The Spanish Civil War is a six part documentary series produced by Granada Television and broadcast by Channel 4 in 1983, it tells the story of the events which caused the start of the Spanish Civil war and then the events which shaped the war until its conclusion and then the aftermath of Franco’s victory which saw him run the country as a nationalist dictator. The series makes use of archive footage and stills from Spanish and British sources and various interviews.

We have all six episodes available to watch here on Documentary Vine (total running time 312 minutes), navigate between them using the numbered tabs beneath the video player or by using the episode link list below.

Episode List


If you want to learn more about the war then consider buying the 1136 page book The Spanish Civil War by Hugh Thomas, a one-volume history of the conflict which was first published in 1962 and was praised by Michael Foot, The Times and The Independent. It is available to purchase in paperback, hardback and kindle formats.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.