Simon Schama’s Power of Art

Published on 25th June 2017 by

An eight part 2006 BBC documentary series written and presented by British historian Simon Schama, the series was also broadcast on channels in Canada (TVOntario), Australia (ABC1), United States (PBS) and in numerous other countries throughout Europe and beyond. Each of the one hour long episodes focuses on the biography of one historically important artist and one of that artists key works, some scenes use dramatisation for reenactments.

All eight one hour long episodes are currently available to watch here on Documentary Vine, navigate them via the numbered tabs beneath the video player or by using the episode list below. Schama also authored a 448 page book to accompany the series.

Episode List


Schama also authored an accompanying book, The Power of Art, published by Body Press in 2009. The 448 page book is available in paperback only, it has received excellent reviews.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.