Seven Ages of Britain (2003)

Published on 31st January 2018 by

Seven Ages of Britain is a seven part 2003 Channel 4 documentary series presented by Historian Bettany Hughes, it covers almost 8000 years of British history and examines the constant struggles between the normal man and the environment during that period. The series was made in collaboration with some of the UK’s top archaeologists and historians.

According to the official website of Bettany Hughes the series intentional examined the lives of the normal people in society, whereas most documentaries about British history focus on the lives of the rich and famous, including the Royal Family and aristocracy. We have all seven episodes of the series available to watch here on Documentary Vine, navigate between them via the numbered tabs beneath the video player or by using the episode link list below.

Episode List


A tie-in book of the same title was written by historian Justin Pollard with a foreword by Bettany Hughes (the presenter of the documentary series), it was published by Hodder & Stoughton and is available in paperback or hardback.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.