Ross Kemp On Gangs (Series 1)

Published on 19th May 2017 by

Ross Kemp on Gangs is a documentary series which ran for four seasons on Sky television in the UK between 2004 and 2009. Kemp travels across the world with a film crew to to interview members of gangs, law enforcement authorities, and sometimes victims of gang related activities. He aims in each episode to gain contact with the gang leadership to obtain a direct face to face interview. The show won a BAFTA award in 2007 for best factual series.

We have all episodes of series one available to watch here on Documentary Vine, navigate them via the numbered tabs below the video player or via the episode list below. When you have finished series one stick around and watch series two.

Episode 1: United States of America

Kemp travels to the USA to examine their national obsession with firearms, this episode was originally a standalone documentary with the title Lethal Attraction: Why Americans Love Guns, but it inspired the series which was subsequently commissioned and some repeats carried the title Why Americans Love Guns: An Inspiration for ‘Ross Kemp on Gangs’. It was almost a year before the second episode was aired.

Episode 2: Rio de Janeiro

In episode two he travels to Brazil and investigates the ongoing war being waged between the authorities and those involved in the drugs trade, as well as between rival gangs who are constantly fighting to gain control over territory and drug profits in the favelas. He wants to find out how serious things have become and whether peace could ever be a realistic prospect, in the process he notices some serious inequality problems in the city.

Episode 3: New Zealand

New Zealand is one of the most beautiful countries on earth, but the country is still experiencing a serious wave of violent crime and is home to numerous violent organized street gangs including a gang called the Mongrel Mob which has a membership of over 1000. The Mongrel Mob have a longstanding rivalry with a gang called Black Power.

Episode 4: Orange County

Episode four explores the Orange County Skinhead gangs that are causing chaos in an area of Orange County, California, the area which was considered the birthplace of American skinhead culture.

Episode 5: London

In the final episode of the first series Kemp visits London to investigate gang culture and serious organized crime. The multicultural nature of London means that there are representatives of almost every major international crime syndicate based in the city, whether that is the Yardies, the Turks, or the Italian mafia. He also speaks with people from ethnic minorities who feel they have been alienated by society.


Kemp published the top ten bestselling book Gangs to accompany series 1 and 2 of Ross Kemp on Gangs, it is available to purchase in paperback, hardback or kindle.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.