Queen Victoria’s Children

Published on 13th February 2018 by

A three-part series 2013 BBC which explores the reign of Queen Victoria through her personal relationships with her husband and her nine children, as told by numerous esteemed historians including some from the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge. We have all three episodes available to watch here on Documentary Vine, details about each are provided below.

Episode 1: Best Laid Plans

The first episode focuses on the passionate marriage between Queen Victoria and her husband Prince Albert, and their attempts to save the monarchy by projecting a modern image.

Episode 2: A Domestic Tyrant

The second episode focuses on Queen Victoria’s relationship with her daughters, and argues that after Albert’s death Victoria would bullied and controlled them; including arranging their marriages. In response the Princesses fought back to become independent women who were determined to find their own love and fresh purpose.

Episode 3: Princes Will Be Princes

The third and final episode focuses on Queen Victoria’s relationship with her sons and how after Albert’s death they struggled to live up to his model of purity; it also explores Victoria’s difficult relationship with her eldest son Bertie, whom she blamed for Albert’s death.


To learn more about the subject consider reading the John Van der Kiste book Queen Victoria’s Children, which is available to purchase in paperback, hardback, kindle, and audiobook formats. It is unrelated to the BBC series but has received excellent reviews.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.