The Private Life of Plants

Published on 10th September 2017 by

The Private Life of Plants is a six part BBC Nature documentary series which was first broadcast in 1995, it is a study of the life cycle of plants and is presented by naturalist Sir David Attenborough – each of the six episodes focuses on a specific aspect of a plants life cycle and makes use of examples of plants from around the world. The programme makes extensive use of time-lapse sequences to show the growth of plants.

We have all six episodes of the series available to watch here on Documentary Vine, navigate them via the numbered tabs beneath the video player or by using the episode link list below. When you have finished stick around and watch more David Attenborough documentaries.

Episode List


The first broadcast of this series was preceded by the publication of an accompanying book, The Private Life of Plants: A Natural History of Plant Behaviour by David Attenborough, available to purchase in hardcover.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.