Pole to Pole With Michael Palin

Published on 24th October 2017 by

Pole to Pole is an eight part series made for the BBC and first aired by the BBC in 1992, it is the second of Michael Palin’s major journeys after Around the World in 80 Days and sees him embark on a trip from the North Pole to the South Pole. The intention was to follow the 30 degree east line of longitude which would be the route which sees him cover the most land and see him travel via Scandinavia, the Soviet Union, Europe and Africa, a diversion during the expedition also saw him go through Chile. Palin used aircraft as little as possible and it took him 5 and a half months to complete.

We have all eight 50 minute long episodes available to watch here on Documentary Vine, navigate between them via the numbered tabs beneath the video player or by using the episode link list below. Palin would go on to complete a third major journey for a BBC series, Full Circle with Michael Palin (1997) charts his 50,000 mile long trip around the rim of the Pacific Ocean.

Episode List


Palin would later author a book about the expedition which contained much more information than he was able to include in the television series, it contains numerous stunning images taken from the teams still photographer Basil Pao.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.