Monarchy with David Starkey (Series 1)

Published on 14th July 2017 by

Monarchy with David Starkey (also known simply as Monarchy) is a Channel 4 series written and presented by historian David Starkey which ran for three seasons, one each year in 2004, 2005 and 2006. The series charts the political history and ideological history of the English Royal Family throughout history from the Saxon times to the present day. It was also broadcast in the USA by PBS and in Australia on ABC1.

We have all six episodes of the first series (2004) available to watch here on Documentary Vine, navigate them via the numbered tabs beneath the video player or by using the episode link list below. When you have finished watching these episodes move on to series 2.

Episode List


David Starkey, a prolific author, also published a book through HarperPress to coincide with the beginning of the television series. Monarchy: From the Middle Ages to Modernity is available in paperback, hardback, kindle and audio book formats.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.