Michael Palin’s New Europe

Published on 1st December 2017 by

Michael Palin’s New Europe is a seven part travel documentary series which was first broadcast in the UK by the BBC in 2007, it sees comedian Michael Palin visit 20 countries in Central and Eastern Europe which had for many years been part of the Soviet Union but had since reintegrated with the rest of the European continent and in many cases joined the European Union. In 2008 the exact same series was aired in the United Kingdom but with different episode titles.

We have all seven one hour long episodes of the series available to watch here on Documentary Vine, navigate between them via the numbered tabs beneath the video player or by using the episode link list below.

Episode List

(Please note that these are the UK titles, the US titles were different)


Palin also authored a companion book about the journey, New Europe, it featured some photography by the teams still photographer Basil Pao. It is available to purchase in paperback, hardback, kindle and audio book formats.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.