The Lost World of Communism

Published on 26th October 2017 by

The Lost World of Communism is a three part BBC documentary series which examines the legacy of communism 20 years after the fall of the Berlin Wall, the series focuses on life behind the Iron Curtain in the Soviet Union – particularly in East Germany, Romania and Czechoslovakia.

The film uses archived television footage and interviews with people who lived in those three countries to give an insight into their lives under Communist rule before the wall came down. The series was first screened on BBC Two in 2009, we have all three episodes available to watch here on Documentary Vine – navigate between them via then numbered tabs beneath the video player or by using the episode link list below.

Episode List


An accompanying book of the same title was authored by Peter Molley, one of the producers of the documentary, and published through BBC Books. It is available to purchase in paperback, hardcover or kindle formats.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.