Lost Kingdoms of Africa (Series 1)

Published on 28th July 2017 by

Lost Kingdoms of Africa is a BBC documentary series which describes the pre-colonial history of the continent of Africa, commissioned to be broadcast in the run up to the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa which was the first ever World Cup to be hosted on the continent. The series was part of the networks Wonderful Africa Season which saw numerous other Africa related productions shown in the same time period.

We have all four one hour long episodes available to watch here on Documentary Vine, navigate them via the numbered tabs beneath the video player or by using the episode links below. The first series was a success and four new episodes were produced for a second series which was broadcast in 2012.

Episode List


A companion book for both series written by Guy Casely-Hayford, also titled was The Lost Kingdoms of Africa, was published in 2012 by Bantam Press. It is available in paperback, hardcover and kindle formats.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.