Long Way Down

Published on 10th November 2017 by

A 10 part BBC Two series which documents an epic motorcycle journey undertaken by actor Ewan McGregor and his friend Charley Boorman, the pair set off from John o’Groats at the tip of McGregor’s native Scotland and travel through Europe and the length of Africa to Cape Town at the southernmost point of the African continent. The 2007 journey took them almost three months to complete and they traveled with the same team members which followed them in their Long Way Round adventure three years earlier.

The adventure takes them through Scotland, England, France, Italy, Sicily, Tunisia, Libya, Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania, Malawi, Zambia, Botswana, and finally South Africa. The initial BBC Two series actually consisted of six episodes, but an extended 10 episode series was later broadcast. We have all 10 episodes of the series available to watch here on Documentary Vine, navigate between them via the numbered tabs beneath the video player.


McGregor and Boorman also co-authored an accompanying book, Long Way Down, available to purchase in paperback, hardback, kindle, and audiobook formats.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.