The Greeks: Crucible of Civilization

Published on 10th December 2017 by

A three part 1999 PBS series hosted by Liam Neeson as part of their ‘PBS Empires’ series, The Greeks: Crucible of Civilization examines the Greek empire which stretched across the Medittereanean sea from Asia to Spain and arguably laid the foundations of modern society, philosophy, science, politics, and even warfare, and Greece is often referred to as the birthplace of democracy.

The series covers the rise of the empire, the glory of the empire at its peak, its eventual demise and the legacy that it left on the wider world. We have all three episodes available to watch here on Documentary Vine, navigate between them via the numbered tabs beneath the video player or the episode link list below.

Episode List


An accompanying book of the same title was authored by Paul Cartledge and published by BBC Books, it was initially available in paperback and hardcover formats but has since been made available on kindle.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.