Empire: How Britain Made the Modern World

Published on 24th October 2017 by

Empire: How Britain Made the Modern World is a six part 2003 Channel 4 documentary series written and presented by historian Niall Ferguson who had previously authored a book of the same name, the series explores the establishment of the British empire and the impact that it had on helping to shape the modern world. The series takes the viewer on a journey from the earliest British settlers in Virginia to the decline of the empire in the years which followed the second world war, it examines both positive and negative aspects of the empire and its legacy.

We have all six episodes of the series available to watch here on Documentary Vine, navigate between them via the numbered tabs below the video player or by using the episode link list below. If you enjoyed this series then you may want to check out some more of Ferguson’s work, including China: Triumph an Turmoil (2012) and The Ascent of Money: Boom and Bust (2009).

Episode List


This series is based on Ferguson’s book of the same title, Empire: How Britain Made the Modern World, published through Penguin and available in hardcover, paperback or kindle formats. The book has received excellent reviews from readers.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.