Michael Palin: Around the World in 80 Days

Published on 23rd October 2017 by

Michael Palin: Around the World in 80 Days is a classic 1989 BBC travel series which saw comedian and actor Michael Palin was given 80 days to to travel around the world without using an airplane, the show was inspired by the 1873 novel Around the World in Eighty Days and of course there were no planes in the 19th century. Palin followed the route in the book as closely as possible

We have all seven episodes of the series available to watch here on Documentary Vine, navigate between them using the numbered tabs beneath the video player or by using the episode link list below. Palin would later embark on two further major expeditions for further BBC series to make a trilogy, the second series was Pole to Pole (1992) and the third was Full Circle with Michael Palin (1997), in 2008 the BBC aired Michael Palin: Around the World in 20 Years which saw Palin retrace the Dubai-Mumbai leg of his journey.

Episode List


Following the trip Palin wrote a book about the experience which contained much more detail than could be presented in the TV series, it contains many photos of the trip and Palin is more forthcoming with his personal views than he was in front of a camera. The book is available in paperback, hardcover, kindle and audiobook formats.

Year Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.

− 3 = 3